Quick update

Well it’s been over a year since I last posted here … and I’ll admit that is out of pure laziness. Sorry about that. I’ll try to find some time, but now that I’m in graduate school I’ve been rather busy.

Over the past year I’ve found numerous species of ants and experienced some interesting weather. I’ve since relocated to North Dakota, which has a notably colder and drier climate than New Jersey. While out here, I’ve experienced temperatures as low as -32 degrees (F)! Another amazing phenomena I couldn’t see back in New Jersey is the northern lights. These are simply amazing. It’s hard to find the words to describe how majestic and awe-inspiring they are, so, I’ll just post a few pictures:

(I tried uploading pictures but they never uploaded … I’ll try again soon)

I’ve also been on a few ant-hunting trips in the past year, each time seeing species that are new to me. Most recently, I saw Dolichoderus plagiatus … a rather colorful ant that I have not seen until this year.  I’ll post a few pictures of these below (pictures wouldn’t upload properly).

Another ant has been a focus of my attention lately. This species, Anergates atratulus, is quite rare. This ant is a worker-less obligate parasite of Tetramorium caespitum (sp. E). I manage to find these rather frequently in my swimming pool back in New Jersey. I made a little experiment which I will describe in more detail in a separate post. Overall, a fascinating species and I managed to get some cool video of them.

Since it’s been a year, there’s obviously more I will need to mention. But for now, I’ll take it easy and start slow. Thanks for being patient, and I’ll try my best to post more often!

Thanks for reading!

About wxmatt

I'm a meteorologist with a deep interest in insects as well as the weather.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

